Help separateing a AN/PVS-5 from original houseing

Discussion about Night Vision Goggles and Night Vision Binoculars / Monoculars

Moderator: Michael

Help separateing a AN/PVS-5 from original houseing

Postby rockafellas » Wed Feb 24, 2016 10:55 am

I recently picked up an AN/PVS-5 with the intention of pulling them from their original bulky housing into two monoculars which I intend to mount in parallel using an N-Vision PVS-15 dual bridge mount and powering them with an ANVIS-9 LPBP.

I am not very technically savvy but I was wondering if anyone here could help me by telling me what I need to do to remove the tubes from their housing, while keeping the tubes and wire intact. I tried looking up exploded diagrams etc. or any step by step how to guides online with no luck.

Thanks in advance guys.
rockafellas

Re: Help separateing a AN/PVS-5 from original houseing

Postby wellyot » Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:26 pm

i think the way is to press them out with a press as they are stuck in . i seem to remember that the wires end up broke but there should be enough left to solder a new bit on , i have not heard of a better way but you could dremel the aloy housing apart - but someone else might know more about if this is a good method than i do
wellyot

Postby 45K40 » Thu Feb 25, 2016 12:27 pm

Rockafellas,

Dremel is the safe way. Cover output screen and fiber optic surfaces with lens tissue and tape; especially at the objective end. Cut 2 longitudal shallow grooves 180 degress apart on shell. At eyepiece end, use fine-tooth hacksaw to join across cuts (down to 1/8" from screen). Do same at objective end. Use wide blade screw driver, hammer, and chisel to crack shallow grooves and peel shell apart. To preserve wiring at the entrance to the shell (epoxyied in), use a heavy duty aircraft-grade paint and epoxy remover (Home Depot sells "Jasco") to soften the epoxy. Keep hammering to a minimum to avoid damage to tube glass parts.

See here for cutaway ref: