tube lights up , no image?

Discuss night vision equipment and technology

Moderator: Michael

tube lights up , no image?

Postby orangerabbit » Thu Mar 17, 2016 9:46 pm

I am not sure but my gen2 pvs5 tube lights up with 3v supply but only shows green. Is it fried?
orangerabbit
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 6:07 pm

Re: tube lights up , no image?

Postby marc_pril » Fri Mar 18, 2016 3:47 am

Have you put lenses in front of it?
marc_pril
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:31 am

Re: tube lights up , no image?

Postby orangerabbit » Fri Mar 18, 2016 8:38 am

I have a cctv 25mm f1.4 lense in it. I just taped it on before I started on the housing. it lights up bright but when I turned on the ir it dimmed. but still showed no discernible image
orangerabbit
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 6:07 pm

Re: tube lights up , no image?

Postby wellyot » Fri Mar 18, 2016 8:51 am

as it is a fibre optic input on the mx9916 - you might have the lens way too close to focus , move it away some and it might be better , also a rear lens will help as the image will be very small without one
wellyot
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 1:59 am

Re: tube lights up , no image?

Postby orangerabbit » Fri Mar 18, 2016 3:08 pm

Today made a new tube case moved the lenses out some and I could see some outlines more but now I noticed a bright circle on it as well very dim and hazy
I was hoping to find a way to put it in my cyber eye but now im wondering should I continue with the cyber eye or just buy a atn viper x1 with white phosphorus. or will a tvs5 tube fit in my housing?
orangerabbit
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 6:07 pm

Re: tube lights up , no image?

Postby orangerabbit » Fri Mar 18, 2016 4:01 pm

better yet will a xx1306 fit ?
orangerabbit
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 6:07 pm

Re: tube lights up , no image?

Postby marc_pril » Sun Mar 20, 2016 12:31 am

The lens needs to be about 17,5mm away from the tube. From flange to input screen. Furthermore it has to be light tight. Tape is fine for testing but actual use needs something sturdier
marc_pril
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:31 am

Re: tube lights up , no image?

Postby orangerabbit » Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:01 am

thank you all! I got a good image then when I was installing it.. in more of a hurry as I should have :( I broke those little wires right at the pot! and then my power supply both neg and positive somehow fell out and I can not figure out to open a cyber eye up and re solder it. what to do now? just when it was working good I F'd up
orangerabbit
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 6:07 pm


Return to General Night Vision Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron