NVD FAQs

Discuss night vision equipment and technology

Moderator: Michael

NVD FAQs

Postby Kalua1969 » Mon Nov 06, 2006 3:09 pm

* Please note that this is just a simple outline of the most-frequently asked questions regarding NVD units and purchasing factors commonly found throughout the forum. Most general questions can often be found by using the "Search" option link provided at the top of this page.
You may also post your question(s) within the "General Night Vision Discussion" forum, to which we have dozens of very helpful and friendly members who are always willing to share their knowledge and expertise regarding NVD's with you.

THE BASICS:

Q: I'm new to night vision devices. Can you give me some information on how these things work?

A: This link will provide you with very good information about how NVD's operate, as well as the technological evolution of Generation 1, Generation 2, and Generation 3 devices...
http://www.nightvisionmall.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Category_Code=ANV

----------

Q: I am planning to purchase my very first NVD. What should I look for in a good NVD unit?

A: There are many factors that could affect your decision. First, ask yourself what your primary usage of the unit will be for? NVD's come in a variety of shapes and sizes, as well as performance levels... from simple hand-held monocular's, head-mounted / hands-free units, long-range binoculars, and hunting / tactical rifle scopes. These can be used for scenarios such as home / work security observation, viewing nocturnal wildlife, or hunting. "Multi-purpose" units are often a favorite since they can be configured to fit a variety of such roles.

Next, consider the cost of investment. NVD's are very sophisticated devices, and "technology" does indeed come with a price tag...

$ - Lower-cost 1st Generation units can do the job just fine for those on a very limited budget. These units are a great bargain for basic recreational usage by entry level NVD enthusiasts.